RSS Feed

Hilltop Equestrian Center Two-Phase

Posted on

On August 12 Otis and I went to Hilltop Equestrian Center for our third two phase of the season. We had our first experience with eventing here last June, so I was excited to come back.

It was pouring rain all the way to the show, so I was really hoping the rain would stop by the time I got there. Luckily, it slowed to a sprinkle just as we arrived, and pretty much held of entirely for the rest of the day.
After watching Liz and Dreamy complete lovely Cross Country and Stadium rounds I got changed and tacked Otis up for dressage. He was feeling a bit fresh at first, and was using all of the higher level horses that were competing in stadium as an excuse to get all wound up. I took him in to the warm up arena and did a lot of trot work and figure eights and a couple of canter circles. That seemed to help bring his attention to me, instead of him looking for excuses to act like a jerk. We were next for dressage so I walked him over to the dressage arena to wait our turn.
He was actually pretty good for our test, with a really nice, consistent trot, and our circles were even okay. He still likes to slow way down when we transition to the walk, but we are working on it at home, so hopefully that will improve soon. We ended up with a score that I was VERY happy with (don’t have the sheet in front of me, so I will have to update that later), and tied for second place πŸ™‚
Next was stadium, after a change of clothes for me, and a change of tack for Otis, we headed out to the warm up area. It was VERY full when I got there, kids cantering in every direction and jumping here and there, so I decided to just walk and trot the outside perimeter until it cleared out a bit. I was very happy with the way Otis handled all the chaos. It is mostly organized chaos, but he doesn’t know that πŸ˜‰ Once the area cleared out a bit I decided to take him over a small cross rail, he had been jumping better at home, but still pops over them really hard when we jump away from home, but I was ready. Sure enough he jumped the small cross rail like it was the big oxer two jumps over! I grabbed his mane and kept my position the best I could so I wouldn’t accidentally grab his mouth (which makes him jump even worse). The next time around was better, and he just kept getting better and better each time, so I was happy. 
Finally it was our turn to jump the stadium course, I always get really excited to jump a course, because I only have room for two jumps at home, so eight is super fun!! I went into the ring with a smile on my face, and a voice in my head reminding me to look up. We went over the first four jumps really well. The fifth jump had fake flowers under it, which Otis didn’t like in June at Green Acres, so I was ready for him to try and refuse it. He hesitated a bit, almost stopped, then went over it. We went over the next three fences without issue. 
I was SO happy with his performance! It was our best stadium round yet, no crazy leaping, I didn’t look down at every fence, it felt really good, and to top it all off we took home a second place ribbon (the girl I was tied with had a refusal in stadium).
                            

One response »

  1. YAY!!!!! You guys have worked so hard and looked great!! Here's hoping we have another good day on Saturday! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a comment